Design

Posted: May 18, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I guess it’s time i get down to the nitty gritty stuff of why i started blogging (other than Beth kicking by butt to do it 😉 ).

It was never something i thought i would take as serious as I have been, it was just a hobby to pass the time while I was out of work (swiveling on my chair for 8 hours was not bringing in any money). I knew the best platform to start was Photoshop  a few friends at the time were using it and showed me the basics but when i got my own version i was looking at it with a blank mind.

Frustrated with not knowing what i was doing and constantly asking friends and annoying them, i decided to look on YouTube (everything’s on YouTube). After following a few tutorials I finally produced my first couple of projects.

PATCH2    PATCH3

You may notice my early work, i have fixated on the work “patch”.  A couple of years before this my hair started falling out so… Yep you guessed it, so i decided to turn this negative into a positive and this was originally going to become a company name.

After a couple of months i felt more confident in my Photoshop skills and wanted to make it more than just a hobby, i wanted a career out of this, it’s what i woke up in the morning and starting, even before coffee!

I knew i had 2d designs sorted but i wanted to go further and try my hand at 3d design so i looked online and found an exceptional 3d modelling tool, cinema 4d. This opened a whole new world so again i went straight back to YouTube ( I have trouble learning at a set pace and found these tutorials a god send).

pokeball diamond2

 

I am constantly still learning even some basics but this was only meant to be something to pass the time, just a bit of fun, i have no art experience ( i can barely draw a straight line with a ruler) it was only because i was browsing the interweb i came across some Photoshop projects. I know hope to take this passion to the next level and make a career out of it.

More designs will follow, comments and opinions greatly valued.

Steve 🙂

 

Comments
  1. LOVE these…rather jealous stiglet 😉 xB

  2. beetleypete says:

    This is only the opinion of an art-duffer old boy, with few computer skills. However, I reckon that they are as good as most things I ever see in Ads, or on TV intros etc, so well done Steve, and keep going! Regards, Pete,

Leave a comment